The stat manual states: 'Jumpball situations leading to a change of possession will result in a turnover either to a specific player or the team.'


There's also an example play.


  • A1 shoots a two-point shot. The ball lodges between the ring and the backboard. Referee calls for a jumpball. Team B gets the ball.
  • 2PTS (A1), DREB (Team B). No turnover is recorded as the ball was not in either team’s possession when the jumpball was called.


The play can be seen here https://youtu.be/U3FgfUC1mK0?t=8304 (go to 2:18:25)


Downloadable file here